A | B | C | D | E | F | G | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W

Independent Living Services (ILS)

The 1999 federal John H. Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP) requires states to identify youth who are likely to remain in foster care until age 18 and to provide those youth with a variety of Independent Living Services. Services include education, training, and support in the areas of educational stability and achievement, vocational training, career exploration, mentoring, employment placement and retention, daily living skills and skills in the avoidance of high risk behavior. In Washington State young adults in foster care can receive Independent Living Services to help prepare them for independence before they leave foster care due to having reached legal adulthood. Throughout the state, community-based agencies and federally recognized Tribes contract with DCFS to provide skills-based services in the areas of education, employment, housing, and life skills to youth 15 and older.



Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA)

The ICWA is a federal and state law requiring specific protections to Indian children: who are removed from their homes; whose parents’ rights are being terminated; and who are being adopted. If a child is and Indian child under the law, the tribe has the right to intervene in proceedings or to request that the legal case is transferred to tribal court. 



Integrated Client Database (ICDB)

See Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) Integrated Client Database (ICDB).

Intensive Family Preservation Services (IFPS)

See Family Preservation Services (FPS).

Investigative Assessment

A document that contains: 1) a history of child abuse and neglect (CA/N) (prior to the current allegations); 2) a description of the most recent CA/N (including severity, frequency and effects on child); 3) a description of protective factors and family strengths; 4) the Structured Decision Making (SDM) risk assessment tool; 4) documentation regarding alcohol or controlled substances is a contributing factor to the alleged abuse or neglect; 5) a disposition (e.g., a description of DCFS case status); and 6) documentation of findings regarding alleged abuse or neglect is referred to as an Investigative Assessment.